Hoods Woods New Hoodlums Forum
A question about curry - Printable Version

+- Hoods Woods New Hoodlums Forum (http://forum.hoodswoods.net)
+-- Forum: Hoodlum Skills Forums (http://forum.hoodswoods.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Wilderness Cooking Forum (http://forum.hoodswoods.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=38)
+--- Thread: A question about curry (/showthread.php?tid=49756)

Pages: 1 2

A question about curry - Bill Hay - 03-04-2018

I understand there are many spice combinations called "curry".  I am looking for one that smells and tastes like what I remember from childhood, a rich smell experienced at the county fair, walking down the midway.

Nothing I've found comes close.  Any ideas, brand names or experiences?

RE: A question about curry - wmerrin - 03-04-2018

Maybe try this - I'm far from an expert, but my favorite spice shop returns 61 results from a search for Curry.  That may be a bit much for a trial order, but they have good descriptions of their spices.  Think back to the sources of your memories and see if you can pick out a likely geographic origin - India, Pakistan, Caribbean, etc or type of food - Tandoori chicken or whatever - and look there first.  Maybe their descriptions will resonate with the time/place of your memories.

Prices are very reasonable (especially compared to overpriced stale grocery store spices) and it would not be unreasonable to order a couple ounces of several candidates.  I wish I knew how to use all the spices I have ordered from them because they sounded so good.

World Spice Merchants, Seattle WA.

https://www.worldspice.com/search?utf8=%E2%9C%93&q=curry

https://www.worldspice.com/

I think it was RadioRay that used to rave about his campfire Squirrel Tikka Masala...

Wally

RE: A question about curry - Bill Hay - 03-05-2018

Thanks, Wally! Yes,it was Ray... Bragging about his Tikka Masala, and I had no idea what he was talking about! Smile